My first “commissioned” jewelry order!

Since I work at a jewelry store, I am familiar with how jewelry is made/put together. As a hobby, I have made jewelry for myself – nothing crazy, just simple pieces. Obviously I don’t have a solder machine or welder at my house, so I can only do so much.

Well, my husband apparently bragged about my latest jewelry-making session to the ladies he works with. A few weeks ago, he came home with a baggie of assorted brass-colored pieces, a large octopus pendant, and a chart for a three layer necklace – from his boss.

Seriously? I do this as a hobby for myself! No pressure, right? Well, the ladies he works with made my craft room blackout curtains – he works at a rug and fabric store, isn’t that handy? – so I felt obligated to at least try to do what she wanted. After threatening him asking him nicely to not talk about my extracurricular activities while he is at work, I stared at the pieces for a week or so. Then I bought some “antique gold” chains and findings, and some sea glass looking beads. No, this is not real gold. I’m not made of money, and I’m not great at making jewelry – so this was all from Joann and Michaels. With coupons. Never pay full price at either one of those stores!

Today, I decided to get with it. I woke up in a bad mood and probably didn’t need to be around people any more than I had to be, so I locked myself up in my craft room for the afternoon and ended up with this:

I went a little crazy. I taught myself how to do a wire wrap on a bead (holy crap! Now I want to wrap everything!) and went to town. I sent my husband out to Harbor Freight, land of cheapass tools, for a precision plier kit because my tools just weren’t working out.

Once I made the necklace, I had extra chains, pendants, and beads left. I went ahead and made a matching bracelet. Then I felt like I needed to complete the set, so off I went to Joann again to buy some ear wires.

I hope she likes it – my husband says “the gaudier, the better” – since Kevin has talked me up so much, I feel like I have these really high standards to live up to!  We shall see tomorrow…

Also posted at RCHOTX


3 Comments on “My first “commissioned” jewelry order!”

  1. Rebecca says:

    Looks great! I love the earrings especially. I can’t get away with a necklace that big but it’s really cool!

    When I saw the title of this post, I thought it was going to be about commission pieces at JA. Did I ever tell you that my parents commissioned their wedding rings there? My dad lost his after they had been married a few years. When my mom went to work for them years later, she dug through some old files and found the original design paperwork and ordered another one. Pretty cool! Not sure if they do that any more.

    • lazyheather says:

      Aww, Rebecca, I don’t think you ever told me that story! I don’t think I ever even knew that your mom worked there. No, we don’t do that anymore. Makes me a little sad, but I understand why we can’t do it. Thanks for the compliment on the jewelry!

  2. Rebecca says:

    Oh, I thought we had talked about that! Yes, she worked at the Northpark store part time for many years, I got to go with her on Take Your Daughter To Work Day a few times. I dream of one day having a wrapping station like that for myself.


Leave a comment