Thanksgiving Recap

TurkeyIt was a turkey. That’s about all there is to say – I’m not a huge turkey fan, I ate 1 small piece of white meat.

HamI did Alton Brown’s “City Ham“. Most of the ham was excellent, but whoever put the ham back in the roaster did not fully cover the ham and lower the heat. Some of the ham was tough, but that’s not Alton’s fault. I will definitely make the City Ham glaze again – when I can watch the ham a little closer ๐Ÿ™‚ It was goooood.

Dressing – Eh. Not a huge dressing fan. We use my great-grandmother’s recipe, my sister likes to carry on the tradition and make it every year. Over it!

Tyler Florenceโ€™s Whipped Sweet Potatoes and Bananas with HoneyAlmost everyone loved this except for me! My grandmother took home about half a pan with her. I think if I had roasted the sweet potatoes longer than the recipe said to, it would have been perfect. The potatoes (at least I don’t think) weren’t fully cooked, even after 45 minutes of roasting and 45 minutes in the oven. Go figure. We doubled this recipe, so maybe that had something to do with it. I guess I would call it a hit, but I don’t know if we’ll make it again next year.

Deviled eggsWe do plain Jane deviled eggs at my house. Why mess with a good thing? ๐Ÿ™‚

Italian green beans and new potatoesI gave up on my quest for fresh Italian beans (sometimes called Romano or Runner beans) – so we went with a bigass can of them from Costco. Not my first choice, but it worked out great. We used this recipe from the Allen’s website – this was probably my favorite dish this year. It was also the easiest. I’m still going to hunt down some fresh ones if it kills me! I don’t like the sodium in canned vegetables one bit.

Dadโ€™s Puerto Rico soupThis was actually not too bad. It was easy to make – not so easy to find the truffle oil (found it @ Central Market, $12.99/little bitty mini bottle), REALLY not easy to handle the smell of said truffle oil (gag) – but tasted pretty darn good. We decided that it would be excellent with some diced potatoes and diced ham. I’ll make it again, I’ll probably leave the truffle oil out unless I’m making it for Dad – the potatoes would thicken it up considerably which would make it a little more filling. Everyone loved it, they liked having an “appetizer” which we’ve never done before ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks Dad!

Tina’s Corn PuddingThis is my mom’s recipe. It’s not fancy, it’s runny, but it reminds all of us of my mom who passed away in 1990. We thought this recipe was long gone – we couldn’t find it for the longest time, and I found it buried in a kitchen drawer underneath some shelf paper about 5-6 years ago and we’ve made it every holiday since. Yum! It’s like dessert, but not ๐Ÿ™‚

Bacon-wrapped asparagusIt was a nice thought, but yeah, I just couldn’t get to it. So we didn’t have it. I wasn’t feeling too hot and towards the end of the day I just didn’t care anymore. No asparagus for my family!
RollsCostco. They were rolls. I didn’t have one! Maybe next year my sister and I will try making them from scratch, but probably not ๐Ÿ™‚

Paula Deenโ€™s Gooey Butter CakeDuh. This is great every time I make it.

Streusel-topped pumpkin pie – Poor pie was neglected. No one tried any of it! I think we had way too many desserts, and this one was kind of at the back of the table. Every other year, it was the first one gone!

Banana puddingUsed my aunt’s recipe. She adds a vanilla bean to it, but I refused to pay $9.00 – $14.00 for a vanilla bean stuffed in a spice jar at Kroger. If I had had time to go to Whole Foods or Central Market to get a fresh one I would have – I know they’re not cheap, but I’d rather have a fresh one or none at all. It was good, even without the vanilla ๐Ÿ™‚

Chocolate pieMy sister made this. It was a Paula Deen recipe, it was GOOD. I’ll have to find the recipe and post the link for future reference.

Pecan pie – My sister made this. We bought pecans @ Costco for a really good price this year. She apparently didn’t bake the pie long enough, so it was not what you might call “solid”, but that didn’t stop people from licking the pie plate clean. I’m not a big pecan pie fan, so I didn’t have any.

Leave a Reply

