From Mom's Recipe Box – Hot Cider Punch

My mom passed away when I was 12, so I have very few things to remember her by. I found her recipe box at my dad’s house a few years ago and haven’t really done anything with it – it’s kind of overwhelming! It’s literally overflowing with recipes she has written down or cut out of magazines. I’m going to put my favorites in the blog so I always know where to find them.

Hot Cider Punch

2 cups water

1 Tbsp. ground ginger

1 Tbsp. ground nutmeg

6 whole cloves

6 whole allspice

2 (2-inch) sticks cinnamon

1 gallon apple cider

3 cups sugar

1 1/2 cups firmly packed brown sugar

Combine water and spices in a large saucepan; cover and bring to a boil. Boil 10 minutes. Add apple cider and sugar. Simmer over low heat 10 minutes, stirring frequently. Serve hot. Yield: About 5 quarts.

Leave a Reply

