Dutch oven pot roast

So I decided to break in my new Dutch oven last night and I am so glad we did! My first pot roast attempt a few months ago was a disaster (ick) but I was willing to try again. I found a new recipe, crossed my fingers, and hoped for the best. It was great!!! Even better, the pot roast was on sale @ Kroger for $1.99/lb 🙂
Dutch Oven Pot Roast

5 lbs. round bone pot roast

2 tsp. salt

2 Tbsp. shortening (I used butter, I wasn’t buying Crisco just for this)

1/2 cup barbecue sauce (we used Cattlemen’s Original)

1/2 cup apple cider (we used Tree Top)

8 carrots, pared, peeled, and cut into 2 inch chunks (we used a bag of the baby carrots – easy!)

6 large potatoes, peeled and quartered

2 onions, sliced

8 oz. fresh okra (left that out because husband doesn’t like it, and it’s not in season)

* We also squeezed some mustard in there about halfway through – just a couple of squirts for shits and giggles *

1. Rub meat with salt.

2. Melt shortening in Dutch oven; add meat and cook over medium heat, turning once. (We did about 4 minutes a side)

3. Reduce heat, pour barbecue sauce and cider over meat.

4. Cover and simmer on top of range or in 325° oven for 3-4 hours. (We put it in the oven, that’s what Dutch ovens are for, in my opinion)

5. Add carrots, potatoes, and onions 1 1/2 hours before end of cooking time.

6. Add okra 15 minutes before end of cooking time.

*We cooked it for about 3 hours and 15 minutes. We couldn’t take the smell anymore after that, we were hungry!!! We left it in the Dutch oven after we got our helpings so it cooked a little more – about 4 hours total. Next time we won’t be so hungry when we make it 🙂 4 hours would have been perfect.*

2 Comments on “Dutch oven pot roast”

  1. You are so brave! For some reason a dutch oven really intimidates me and have never tryed one. Which is really funny to me since cowboys (who are not known for there cooking) can use one.
    I am glad you had success this time, and I look forward to hearing about more.

  2. […] in Texass and I’ve been craving some serious comfort food.  Enter: pot roast.  My friend Heather posted a recipe for it ages ago and it seemed easy enough, so I thought I’d give it a go.  Oh. My. God.  SO GOOD! […]


Leave a Reply

