Kraft Food and Family

So, I got my copy in the mail today and everything in it looks good! We’re kind of on a health kick in my house (we’ll see how long that lasts, my goal is to lose 100 lbs. – wish me luck) so I’m on the lookout for healthy, low-cal, low-fat stuff in addition to low sodium. Hopefully I can find enough things that don’t taste like cardboard so I can keep the healthier eating up 🙂

I’m thinking that this soup looks excellent, but I’m not so sure. I usually only like Velveeta when it’s melted with Rotel and I can dip chips in it! I’ll try it out, though, what the heck.

Velvety Vegetable Cheese Soup

1 pkg. (16 oz.) frozen broccoli, cauliflower, and carrot mix

2 cans (14 oz. each) fat-free reduced sodium chicken broth

3/4 lb. (12 oz.) Velveeta, cut up

Place vegetables and broth in large saucepan; cover.Bring to boil on medium-high heat. Reduce heat to low; simmer 10 minutes or until vegetables are tender.

Mash vegetables with potato masher to desired consistency. (I’d probably leave them somewhat chunky)

Stir in Velveeta; cook 5 minutes or until Velveeta is melted and soup is heated through, stirring frequently.

Makes 6 servings, 1 cup each.

Save 40 calories and 6 grams of fat per serving by preparing with 2% Milk Velveeta.

One Comment on “Kraft Food and Family”

  1. I have got that magazine for years and I love it. I would have to agree about the velveeta, it is just too thick and processed tasting for me. I do not think I would like this recipe just for that reason, but I am sure it is possible to convert it over to use another cheese and maybe some milk.


Leave a Reply

