Brownie Pudding

My aunt has been making this as long as I can remember – it’s comfort food to me. It’s easy, and I almost always have the ingredients on hand, so that makes it even better! It looks nasty when you put it in the oven, but it comes out fine and is best served warm with Blue Bell Vanilla Bean ice cream 🙂 I made some for my best friend who just had her 2nd baby, and I couldn’t quit thinking about it, so I came home and started baking!

Brownie Pudding

Preheat oven to 350°.

1 cup flour

2 tsp. baking powder

Salt (I use about 1/2 tsp.)

2/3 cup sugar

2 Tbsp. cocoa

Sift above ingredients together. To those, add:

1/2 cup milk

2 Tbsp. oil (we have corn oil at the moment, so that’s what I used)

1 tsp. vanilla

1 cup brown sugar

4 Tbsp. cocoa

Stir until combined, doesn’t have to be perfect. It will be thick, like a brownie batter. Put in a 2 qt. dish.

Pour 1 1/2 cups boiling water over the top. The water HAS to be boiling, don’t try to cheat. You will regret it. (Okay, I don’t know this for a fact, but I assume the recipe says “boiling” for a reason). Bake at 350° for 30-40 minutes.
When you take it out and start serving it, don’t panic. The bottom half is supposed to be runny 🙂 It’s chocolate goodness.

* If you double this (which we usually do if we have a family gathering), you can put it in a 9×13 pan and it will be fine.

Leave a Reply

