It's like Christmas around here!

One of my bffs, Chris, gave me a huge bag full of Cooking Light and Taste of Home magazines on Monday night. I’m a sucker for cookbooks and magazines, she knows me well. Maybe carrying that heavy bag full of old magazines threw her into labor, because she had her sweet baby the next day! I like to think that I’m responsible for that. The birth, not the baby.

While these Taste of Home magazines have lots of pictures of bad, BAD hair and old ladies, they do have some pretty good recipes. I’m sure you’ll get sick of reading them, but I need to get the recipes typed out so I can throw out the huge stack of magazines before my husband kills me. So go ahead and get over it 🙂

Twice-Baked Potato Casserole

6 medium unpeeled potatoes, baked

1/4 tsp. salt

1/4 tsp. pepper

1 lb. sliced bacon, cooked and crumbled

3 cups (24 oz) sour cream

2 cups (8 oz) shredded mozzarella cheese

2 cups (8 oz) shredded cheddar cheese

2 green onions, chopped

Cut baked potatoes into 1-inch cubes. Place half in a greased 9×13 dish. Sprinkle with half the salt, pepper, and bacon. Top with half of the sour cream and cheeses. Repeat layers. Bake, uncovered, at 350° for 20 minutes or until cheese is melted. Sprinkle with onions.

Serves 6-8.

Leave a Reply

