Beer Bread!

One of my employees brought in a loaf of this bread the other night fresh out of the oven. Oh my goodness. It totally made my day.

Apparently this “recipe” has been around for a while, because I was telling my grandmother about it today and she said they used to call it “Indian Bread”. Not sure why, not sure that I want to know why. Anyway… here it is. I’ve made 3 loaves in 2 days – 2 with Shiner Bock, 1 with Bud Light. They’re both excellent, the Shiner loaves were just a bit darker.

Easy Beer Bread

1 bottle or can of beer – any kind – just make sure it is only 12 oz. NO FORTIES.

3 cups self-rising flour (very important that it’s self-rising)

3 Tbsp. sugar

1/2 stick butter, melted (optional)

Grease a loaf pan with Pam or butter. Preheat oven to 375°. Mix together the flour and sugar in a large bowl, then pour in the beer. (I used my Kitchenaid mixer, but Bernice stirs it by hand. I’m far too lazy for that.) I finally got to use my bread hook!

Once it is doughy, put the dough in the loaf pan. Bake for 50 minutes. Take it out, pour the 1/2 stick of butter over it, and bake for 10 more minutes. This browns it a little, and tastes really good!

Enjoy!

4 Comments on “Beer Bread!”

  1. Jj says:

    I’ve had people look at me like I’m crazy when I mention beer bread.. “Beer? in bread?” but it’s really good, isn’t it? I think it adds a very unique flair. Your recipe sounds great!

  2. Jj says:

    I’ve had people look at me like I’m crazy when I mention beer bread.. “Beer? in bread?” but it’s really good, isn’t it? I think it adds a very unique flair. Your recipe sounds great!

  3. Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation 🙂 Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Unworldliness.

  4. Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation 🙂 Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Unworldliness.


Leave a Reply

