Chayote Squash Soup with Cilantro Cream

On our honeymoon, we stayed at a place called “The Inn Above Onion Creek” near Kyle, TX (near San Marcos). I had the best meal of my life there and I still think about it and wish I could go back there and eat the exact same thing again. It’s been almost 4 years and one day I WILL go again. I couldn’t have asked for a better, more beautiful, more relaxing place to stay/eat. The nice thing about the Inn is that breakfast AND dinner are included in the room rate. It’s not a crappy dinner, either. They employ gourmet chefs, and they spoil you rotten. I recommend that place to anyone and everyone I can – I wish they’d send me some free nights since I have sent them so many customers!

Anyway, my point was that in the Best Meal of My Life, one of the sides was Chayote Squash. I had never heard of it before then, and I found out that the Inn grew their own. We took pictures of the chalkboard with the menu written on it and also took pictures of the squash. It was great, even my husband ate it – and he is not very adventurous.

The menu board The view from our 2nd floor deck at IAOC

According to this cookbook: “Chayote squash, often called a “vegetable pear”, is native to Mexico and is readily available here. The squash is light green in color and delicate in flavor.”

Sigh.

Chayote Squash Soup with Cilantro Cream Sauce

1 large onion, chopped

2 cloves garlic, minced

3 Tbsp. flour

3 large Chayote squash, peeled, seeded, sliced

3 cans (14.5 oz each) reduced-sodium fat-free chicken broth, divided

1/2 cup water

Salt and white pepper, to taste

Cilantro Cream (recipe follows)

Chopped cilantro, as garnish

1. Saute onion and garlic in lightly greased medium skillet until tender, about 5 minutes. Stir in flour; cook over medium heat 2 minutes, stirring constantly. Add squash and 1 can broth to saucepan; heat to boiling; reduce heat and simmer, covered, until squash is tender, 15-20 minutes.

2. Process mixture in food processor or blender until smooth; return to saucepan. Add remaining broth and water; season to taste with salt and white pepper. Serve warm or chilled; drizzle each bowl of soup with Cilantro Cream and sprinkle with cilantro.

Cilantro Cream (makes about 1/2 cup)

1/3 cup fat-free sour cream

1 Tbsp. finely chopped cilantro

1/4-1/3 cup fat-free milk

1. Mix sour cream and cilantro in small bowl, adding enough milk for desired consistency.

Serves 6 (about 1 cup each)

Per serving: Cal 68, % from fat 11, fat 0.9, sat fat 0.1, chol 0.2, sodium 27, protein 2.9, carb 13.3

From 1001 Delicious Recipes for People with Diabetes

One Comment on “Chayote Squash Soup with Cilantro Cream”

  1. nikole says:

    I LOVE chayote! I have my own recipe, i slice, sautee with olive oil and shrimp and garlic..SOO good.
    I’ll have to try the cilantro chayote soup..sounds yummy. thanks for sharing.


Leave a Reply

