Hibiscus Punch

You can usually find dried hibiscus in Asian, Mexican, and Caribbean specialty markets. I love it!

Hibiscus Punch

8 cups water

1 cup hibiscus pods

2/3 cup superfine sugar

1. Combine water and hibiscus in a large nonaluminum Dutch oven. Cover and let stand 2 hours. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer, uncovered, 5 minutes. Strain through a sieve, reserving punch; discard solids. Add sugar, stirring until sugar dissolves; chill.

Yield: 8 cups (serving size: 1 cup)

Nutritional information: Cal 66 (0% from fat), fat 0, protein 0.2, carbs 16.9, fiber 0, chol 0, iron 0, sodium 0, calcium 4.

4 Comments on “Hibiscus Punch”

  1. kelsnotchels says:

    so, what does hibiscus taste like?

    I don’t know how to describe it – almost a bitter taste, but a little sweet? I had a drink in Kerrville, TX that was made with hibiscus and vodka – (at least I think it was vodka, it was strong!). Some citrus flavored vodka would be nice with hibiscus πŸ™‚

    The waiter at the restaurant told me I could buy hibiscus @ HEB/Central Market.

  2. kelsnotchels says:

    so, what does hibiscus taste like?

    I don’t know how to describe it – almost a bitter taste, but a little sweet? I had a drink in Kerrville, TX that was made with hibiscus and vodka – (at least I think it was vodka, it was strong!). Some citrus flavored vodka would be nice with hibiscus πŸ™‚

    The waiter at the restaurant told me I could buy hibiscus @ HEB/Central Market.

  3. Joelen says:

    This sounds not only delicious but fragrant! Thanks for sharing πŸ™‚

  4. Joelen says:

    This sounds not only delicious but fragrant! Thanks for sharing πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

