I love pork.

This morning, Kevin mentioned one of the recipes I had starred in my Google Reader (if you are my friend, you are no doubt inundated with starred items from me – ha!) and I asked him if he wanted to have it for dinner tonight since I had nothing planned. Of course he said yes, so I sent him to the store with a list (because I’m lazy and refuse to get out of my PJs today).

We made pulled pork sandwiches from Our Sweet Life and they were oh so good. I’ve never made a pork tenderloin in the crock pot before, but you can bet your butt I’ll be doing it again.

We made some adjustments to the recipe (mainly because there are just 2 of us and we had absolutely no need for 70 mini sandwiches!) but I will definitely do the “mini” part if/when we ever have a house big enough to invite people over 🙂 I noted our adjustments in italics.

Thanks for the yummy dinner, Beth and Nate!

Mini-Pulled Pork Cocktail Sammiches (from Our Sweet Life)

2lb pork tenderloin (we got the Hormel barbecue flavored tenderloin)
2 12oz. bottles root beer (we used about 20 oz. total)
1/2 cup bbq sauce (Cattlemen’s! We also poured some into the crock pot as the pork cooked.)
2 pkgs refrigerator biscuits (we just used 1 roll of Grands biscuits)
mini-muffin tin (we used a regular muffin tin)

Each “grands” biscuit makes 2-3 mini sammiches.

Place pork and root beer in the crockpot and cook on low for 6-7 hours (so it is easy to fork apart and not dry). Remove cooked pork from crockpot with a slotted spoon, and place in a large bowl, add bbq sauce and fork apart to shred. Let cool and refrigerate 1 hour to overnight.

Open the package of biscuits and split separate the biscuits, use a little round cookie cutter* to cut circles out of the raw biscuit dough. Pull the circle apart (in half, the layery biscuit dough comes apart pretty easily).

Grease a mini muffin tin with non-stick spray. Place a circle of biscuit in the muffin cup. Fork on some pulled pork, add a dab of bbq sauce and top with another biscuit circle. (We decided that next time we will add some shredded Cheddar to this as well).

Cook on 425 15-20 minutes or until biscuits are golden brown. (We followed the directions on the Grands packaging, about 17 minutes).

* I used a glass to cut the biscuits into smaller rounds because I don’t have a biscuit cutter 🙂 A juice glass cuts them to the perfect size for a regular muffin tin. I rolled the dough to thin it out a little so we could get 12 bottoms and 12 tops out of one roll of Grands biscuits. I got 12 bottoms and 11 tops, so Kevin had one open-faced sandwich! Next time I know to not be so generous with the dough.

* Kevin commented that these would be excellent for a Superbowl party. Good times!

* We have a ton of leftover pork since we only made 12, so tomorrow night we will be using it in a Kevin-created salad. Should be good, if it is I will blog about it!

Leave a Reply

