Malt-O-Meal

I’m eating a bowl of Malt-O-Meal right now. Lots of butter (ok, Country Crock) and a few spoonfuls of brown sugar. It takes me back to my childhood πŸ™‚ I’ve been in a horrible mood today, so I felt like comfort food was in order for dinner tonight. Since Kevin is working (big shock there) I’m on my own – so rather than drive somewhere and get mashed potatoes and fried okra, I opted to *gasp* make M-O-M.

I’m eating it out of my favorite bowl. I’ve had this bowl since 1990, I would die if anything happened to it – it reminds me of my mom for reasons I don’t feel like going into. I try my best to keep this bowl clean at all times so I can use it whenever I need a bowl. Oh yes, and a small spoon. No big spoons for me. Ugh. They weird me out.

So, now that I’ve probably made all of my friends question my sanity – what do you like on your M-O-M? If you don’t like M-O-M, then what are your go-to comfort foods?

Off to eat my yummy M-O-M – no lumps!!!

(I ate Club Crackers during Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants 2 earlier this evening, Kekis!)

10 Comments on “Malt-O-Meal”

  1. Penny says:

    WTF is Malt-O-Meal?!?

    Comfort food? That’d be chocolate. Or ice cream. But NOT chocolate ice cream. I’m a mint choc chip or cookie dough girl.

  2. kekis26 says:

    I thought you were eating Club Crackers.

  3. Chris says:

    My comfort foods are the kind that take a while to prepare, unfortunately: homemade chicken & noodle soup, swiss steak, meatloaf, and naturally lots and lots of mashed potatoes (yes, even with the chicken soup. I know. I’m weird).

  4. Sars says:

    I love M-O-M with jelly mixed in. It’s warm and comforting but with a fruity kick.

    Did your mom every make you white rice with milk, butter & brown sugar? SO good.

  5. joelen says:

    I’m not big on MOM… or Cream of Wheat. I think its a texture thing for me – lol. My comfort food is either a grilled cheese sammy or ginger chicken rice soup. πŸ™‚

  6. joelen says:

    I’m not big on MOM… or Cream of Wheat. I think its a texture thing for me – lol. My comfort food is either a grilled cheese sammy or ginger chicken rice soup. πŸ™‚

  7. EMT says:

    Ooh, I love Cream of Wheat, but ONLY the Brown Sugar & Maple. And now I have Noah on it, too. He told one of his teachers that he was having Cream of Wheat for Thanksgiving. πŸ™‚

  8. EMT says:

    Ooh, I love Cream of Wheat, but ONLY the Brown Sugar & Maple. And now I have Noah on it, too. He told one of his teachers that he was having Cream of Wheat for Thanksgiving. πŸ™‚

  9. kelsey says:

    hmmm,

    Daron’s Taco Soup

    Daron’s Cornbread Stuffing

    Chicken Express chicken tenders/gravy/mashed potatoes

    Chai Tea

  10. kelsey says:

    hmmm,

    Daron’s Taco Soup

    Daron’s Cornbread Stuffing

    Chicken Express chicken tenders/gravy/mashed potatoes

    Chai Tea


Leave a Reply

