Beef Tortilla Casserole

I will admit – I have been super lazy this week (sick dog, general laziness, you know how it is) but this looked really good to me. This is in no way healthy, and I don’t even want to know how much sodium I am about to digest, but it sure smells good in the oven right now.

I found this recipe on the back of the Old El Paso Enchilada Dinner Kit. I am ashamed 🙂

Beef Tortilla Casserole

1 lb. lean ground beef

1/2 cup chopped onion

1 Old El Paso enchilada dinner kit

1/2 cup water

1 can (4.5 oz) chopped green chiles

1 cup sour cream (I used less, didn’t have a full cup at home due to all the baked potatoes I have consumed this week)

1 cup shredded Cheddar cheese, of course I used more

1. Heat oven to 350°. In 10-inch skillet, brown beef and onion; drain. Stir in both pouches Enchilada Sauce, the Seasoning Mix, water and chiles; heat until hot.

2. In ungreased 11×7 (I don’t have an 11×7 dish, I used a 2.5 qt. casserole), spread 1 cup of the beef mixture. Cut tortillas in half. Place 6 tortilla halves on top; spread with 1/2 cup of the sour cream. Top with 1/2 cup of the cheese, 1 cup of the beef mixture, and 6 tortilla halves. Top with remaining sour cream, remaining beef mixture and remaining cheese.

3. Bake 30 minutes. If desired, serve with additional sour cream, diced red bell pepper and chopped cilantro.

6 servings.

Leave a Reply

