My chicken salad experiment

Every once in a while, we will have potlucks at work. Mainly because all we do at work is talk about food and new recipes, etc. – and it’s always healthy stuff (ha). I signed up to make chicken salad, originally thinking I would just go to Costco and get the best chicken salad ever there – but then I discovered about 20 lbs. of frozen chicken in my freezer. I decided this would be a good way to get rid of one package of chicken 🙂

A lady I work with suggested the chicken salad recipe by Helen Corbitt. It looked easy enough, and I didn’t want to make one million changes like I did in all the other recipes I looked up – so the original recipe is here, along with my few changes 🙂

Chicken Salad Supreme (thanks Helen Corbitt!)

2 1/2 cups cooked and diced cold chicken (I shredded instead of diced, and OOOOOH, it was fresh outta the boiling water when I made this)

1 cup celery, chopped fine (I hate celery, but all the work peeps love it, so I kept it – eww)

1 cup seedless white grapes, halved (I used craisins instead – boss hates grapes and I decided to be nice. Plus, I hate halving grapes. That is work for suckas.)

1/2 cup slivered almonds, toasted (I toasted them, but I don’t think it really worked. And I used sliced, not slivered.)

2 Tbsp. minced parsley

1 tsp. salt (I only use kosher salt flakes, they are awesome)

1 cup mayonnaise (Hellman’s only!)

1/2 cup heavy cream, whipped (yummmmmmmmmmmmmm)

Combine all the ingredients and refrigerate!

I tasted it. It is awesome. Tastes a lot like the chicken salad salad at Potbelly 🙂

I bought little baby rolls to serve with it. Can’t wait!!

Leave a Reply

