Slow-Cooker Tex-Mex Chicken

Our house gets ridiculously hot in the summer – it faces west, so it is burning up between 4-9 pm. I’ve decided to use the crockpot more because it emits much less heat than the oven or stove, and also because it’s so much easier to toss stuff into a crockpot!

I made this tonight and it turned out great! It made the house smell so good all day too. It is extremely filling, I could barely finish my bowl.

Slow-Cooker Tex-Mex Chicken

1 lb. boneless skinless chicken breasts, cut into strips (I just used chicken breast tenders, since I hate touching raw chicken)

2 Tbsp. taco seasoning mix (I used the whole packet, which made it a little bit spicy!)

2 Tbsp. flour

1 each: green and red pepper, cut into strips

1 cup frozen corn

1 1/2 cups thick n chunky salsa (I actually used the whole 16 oz. jar)

1 cup Mexican blend cheese

Rice, cooked

Toss chicken with seasoning and flour in slow cooker. Stir in vegetables and salsa; cover.

Cook on LOW 6-8 hours or on HIGH 3-4 hours; stir. Top with cheese.

Serve over hot cooked rice topped with sliced green onions and chopped cilantro.

This would also be good with black beans or pinto beans added in – or good wrapped up in a flour tortilla!!

2 Comments on “Slow-Cooker Tex-Mex Chicken”

  1. mallie says:

    Got any good, easy lunch ideas for a group of moms coming over to my house on Tuesday????? πŸ™‚

  2. mallie says:

    Got any good, easy lunch ideas for a group of moms coming over to my house on Tuesday????? πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

