To add insult to injury

Not only was my husband laid off, but 2.5 weeks later we are STILL having to fight to get his last paycheck and vacation time that he is owed. That money that is rightfully ours sure would help right now.

It amazes me that a huge company with such a good reputation can treat their employees (and ex-employees) this way. Everyone said that someday we’d be able to look back and see this as a blessing. It took a long time to get to that point with the last layoff, but this time it has come much sooner. They did not treat him with the respect he deserved when he worked there, and they certainly aren’t doing it right now. My husband should not have to make daily phone calls to corporate HR about HIS money that they refuse to let go of. He is not the only one they are doing this to, either. Apparently it’s very widespread, which is so disappointing. Let us move on with our lives, WITH our money. Is that so difficult? At this late date, I’m certainly not counting on the money – it’s more the principle. The money would go into savings, for when we need it later on should he not be able to find another job. It just makes me so mad that a company like the one he worked for would go to these lengths to hurt their ex-employees.

I know that my friends and family are tired of me bitching and moaning about this whole thing, I am too. However, it is the only thing I can think about. It is so maddening. As a result, I’ve kind of clammed up and kept myself away from friends, and even family. No one wants to listen to me griping about it – well, with the exception of a few friends. Thank you, you know who you are. I’m sure I’m depressed and need better drugs to get me through this, but it’s all I can do to drag myself to work and home every day. Add in a doctor’s appointment? Ha!

Someday we’ll move past this. I just hope it’s soon.

Leave a Reply

