Ready for this to be over with – one way or the other

Today is not a good day for me – I don’t know why I chose today to have a pity party, but I did. If you don’t want to read about my sad life right now or don’t feel like dealing with someone whining, then I strongly suggest you close out your browser window now.

Kevin has been unemployed for 10+ weeks. He has a (very) part-time job, but they are not busy and he gets cut early on every shift. In the past, he has been the one doing the cutting, so it’s difficult for him – but he understands why it has to be done. He IS hopeful about a very good job, but we shall see how that works out. If he gets the job he really wants, it will be a blessing in more ways than one – pay is better, hours are excellent, and it is a privately-owned small company. I really, really hope he gets this one. He is so ready to work and I am so ready to shop!

As you know, we were denied unemployment benefits thanks to his ex-company claiming that he QUIT (when he was laid off). We did everything we were supposed to do, and we ended up filing an appeal. We had to wait 6 weeks (I think – it’s all running together at this point) for the appeal hearing, and we were supposed to get an answer last Monday. A week ago. All we know as of right now is that “the resolution letters have been mailed”. This is what they told us last Monday. Okay, if it’s coming from Austin – we should have had it by now. They don’t send it certified – oh no, that would cost too much money/be too much trouble/be the right thing to do when we’re talking about thousands of dollars – they send it regular old first class mail. Our mail service SUCKS in my ‘hood.

Here’s the kicker: if the appeal was not ruled in our favor, we have 14 days from the time the resolution letter was MAILED (not 14 days from when we receive it) to appeal to the commission. Do the math. If a letter was mailed on, say, Monday and we still don’t have it a week later – we’re working on day 8 of 14 here. I am frustrated beyond belief. Kevin has called everyone he can find a number for at the TWC and no one will tell him anything.

Of course I would love to get the money – I feel that we deserve it just as much as anyone else that has been laid off – but I honestly don’t have high hopes. Every 2 weeks that this gets delayed, it just adds more money to what we are owed. I was depending on this unemployment money to pay bills. It has been so hard (and humbling) to try to make it through on 40% of our income for the last 10 weeks. I hate it. It’s not like we lived beyond our means (much) but I do not like running on amounts this low in our checking account. It makes me very, very nervous. Not to mention, Christmas is coming and I’m panicking about that.

Also – crap has happened that has never happened before. I guess when it rains, it pours.

*Pretty major blowout with my good friends

*Kevin’s windshield busted out in the Wal Mart parking lot

*I broke my back left molar and have no idea how I’m going to be able to afford to get it fixed

*Kevin’s dad had a mild heart attack. Mild, but still a heart attack. We couldn’t afford for him to go see him, which makes me feel horrible.

*Several other things that I will not go into on this blog

I’m just ready for my life to get back to normal. Will it ever???

Leave a Reply

