Perspective

Today I went and volunteered for a local women’s shelter. One of my best friends works for them and every year they put on a HUGE donation drive to help their clients and others who might need it. I was supposed to go and help last year, but work got in the way (of course) and I wasn’t able to. Luckily, I made it this year and loved every minute of it.

I am amazed at the generosity of people, even in this crappy economy. There were SO many things there, and they are expecting a ton more items in the next couple of days. Without going into too many details, I heard about some horrible situations that women had escaped from – that NO ONE should have to ever deal with. It shocked me. One lady was dropping off some donated items and told us that her sister was abused 35 years ago, and that a shelter like Genesis wasn’t around then – and if it hadn’t been for her family, her sister wouldn’t have made it out alive. I was able to meet the family that my group of friends “adopted” this year. I know there are millions of stories just like hers, and it made me feel blessed that that is one thing I will never have to deal with.

No matter how bad I think my life is at any given time, someone always has it worse than I do. Not once has my husband laid a finger on me. Not once has my father laid a finger on me (exception: I was spanked as a child, and I’m sure I deserved it – but that is not what I’m talking about here). Not once have I felt threatened by my family members or husband. Never. I can’t imagine what these women are going through and have already been through.

While I may complain that I can no longer afford our precious DirecTV, that I can’t go out and buy whatever I want, that I live in a crappy house, that my dad has cancer, that my husband has no job – those things are all temporary and will get better. I have a roof over my head, I have food in my cabinets and refrigerator, I have a family that I love and that loves me, and I have a group of supportive friends that are always there for me.

I’m going back to help again on Friday. I haven’t been able to stop thinking about it since I got home today.

My goal for next year – you heard it here first – is to volunteer my time. While I can’t help very much monetarily, I CAN give my time. These people deserve all the help they can get.

I’m thankful that I was given this opportunity today to see that I really am lucky and blessed to have all that I have.

Leave a Reply

