1. Your current relationship

Kevin and I have known each other for 14 years and been together for 13.5 of them. It’s scary when you realize that that is almost half of our lives!

We had a long distance relationship for the first 4 years we were dating – finally the time came where he was either moving to Houston with his parents or moving to Fort Worth to be with me. I told him if he moved to Houston, then he would move there a single man.

He was at my house in two days.

We went from seeing each other *maybe* once a month to living together 24/7/365. It was easy. Not to say that we didn’t have our rough spots (oh, did we) but it wasn’t something out of a horror movie. I was expecting it to be a lot more difficult than it was. We had a cute apartment, we were both working, he was going to school at night. Pretty basic stuff. We got a dog, we got engaged, and 2 years after we started living in sin, he proposed. On his birthday. 2/10/03.

We got married on 11/27/04. This was not our first choice in dates. We postponed due to financial reasons – if Dad was going to help, he needed more time. My sister got married 2 months after we got engaged, and I think Dad had some sticker shock. We ended up having a fairly small church wedding, but it was perfect and man, was I glad when it was over. I do not recommend a 19 month engagement. Looking back, I wish we would have eloped, but hindsight is 20/20.

We have our good times and our bad times. He has been laid off twice in the last 4 years. This has been hard on us, on him, and on me. If we’re being honest, there were several times this last 1.5 years of unemployment that I did not think we were going to make it. It has been a bad period of time for us as a couple. We are surviving, and things are slowly but surely getting better, but our marriage has been tested and is still stretched paper thin.

Hopefully, now that he has a job that he starts tomorrow, things between us will improve. It’s amazing what a JOB can do for your self-esteem and happiness. I haven’t seen him this happy in years. He is just giddy and excited and has such high hopes. I, on the other hand, am being the cynic that I have learned to be in the last couple of years. I am trying, but it is just so hard to get your hopes up after so many letdowns.

2011 HAS to be a better year for Team W.

Sorry this isn’t all puppies and rainbows, but I’m being brutally honest.

One Comment on “1. Your current relationship”

  1. I genuinely hope that this new job will make things so much easier for you two. I can’t imagine how stressful it’s been… 😦


Leave a Reply

