4. Your views on religion.

This one is a tough one.

I grew up being forced to go to church every Sunday morning, whether I wanted to or not. It was just something that we did, no ifs/ands/buts. Period.

Having seen firsthand just how differently people act in church and out of church for years has kind of burned me on organized religion. I know that my church was like every other church out there, and some of the things that went on in my church just weren’t appropriate. Nothing major, just little things that happened behind the scenes. The last straw for me (and I know this is a stupid reason to quit attending the church you’ve gone to for your whole life) was my wedding. The pastor really pissed me off. He was late to the rehearsal, not nice to the people that were patiently waiting for him, and never apologized for it. We had been planning for over a year with him – there was really no excuse for his actions. The wedding day wasn’t much better. Even though that pastor is no longer at the church, I still have been hesitant to go back.

I’ve thought about looking for a new church, but I’m scared. I don’t like all of these huge mega-churches that have popped up recently – they scare the crap out of me.

So, as a result, I do not attend church. Part of it is laziness, part of it is fear, and part of it is disgust. I don’t pretend to be this godly person and then act like a psycho five minutes later. That’s not my thing, and I know plenty of people who do it all the time. I’m just “here”. I believe in God, I take the parts of the Bible that I personally believe in and go with that.

Right now, that’s enough for me.

Leave a Reply

