Cheesy Nutty Bread (what a name, right?)

I don’t normally pick up samples at the grocery store that are left unattended (I’m weird like that), but the other day at Kroger this caught my eye and I made an exception. Plus, my nephew was with me and any opportunity I have to get that kid to eat something besides fruit snacks is a win. This was sitting out on a cart (fresh out of the oven!), bread cut up into bite size pieces in a little plastic jello shot cup, copies of the recipe sitting out for freaks like me to take. Bonus – Logan loved it and wanted to go back and get another piece. What?!

We each got a piece of the bread. SO good. It was sweet, but cheesy. And nutty. Hence the name. It was an odd combination, but it worked! I’ve been thinking about it since Sunday, so I guess I’ll have to make it this weekend.

Cheesy Nutty Bread

1 cup (4 oz) Hennings Yellow Cheddar Cheese (I would assume any cheddar cheese would work, this was set up by the “cheese shop”)

3 cups flour

1 cup sugar

4 tsp. baking powder

1 tsp. salt

1 egg

1 2/3 cups milk

1/4 cup cooking oil

3/4 cup chopped nuts

Preheat oven to 350.

In mixing bowl, stir flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt together.

In another bowl, mix egg, milk, and oil. Add to dry ingredients.

In small bowl, combine cheese and nuts. Mix evenly. Add to other ingredients.

Grease bread pan (9x5x3). Pour ingredients in and smooth surface.

Bake in oven for 1-1 1/4 hours. Cool in pan for 10 minutes. Remove from pan and cool on rack.

Serve hot, or wrap and store overnight.

Leave a Reply

