Five.

Five years ago tomorrow, Logan made me an aunt. I spoil him rotten, but that’s my job. I love that kid so much – I had no idea I could love that much.

Dear Logan,

You will be 5 tomorrow. FIVE! It seems like you were born yesterday. In one moment, you changed our whole family – not just your mommy and daddy, but everyone. I don’t remember much of what happened before you were with us. It’s been such a great 5 years.

I will never, ever forget keeping you for the first time. You might have been 4 or 5 months old? Your mommy was finally going somewhere without you. I’m going to be honest here, I couldn’t wait for her to get back. You obviously did not want anything to do with me, and that’s okay. I can laugh about it now. I very clearly remember just sitting in the floor of your nursery, holding you, bawling my eyes out right along with you. I just could not figure out what you wanted, and at that point we had both given up. Your mommy still teases me about that night. It’s just not right, is it?

The night from hell - before Mommy left you with horrible Aunt Heather.

Uncle Kevin and I were talking just last night about how you talk all the time now. He said that he missed you calling him “Kay-in”, and I replied that I didn’t miss being called “whore”. I know that you can say my name perfectly fine, but I am perfectly fine with you calling me “Hewwer” for the rest of your life. Sometimes I wonder if you do it because you know I love it when you say that. You’re pretty smart.

Crawling through playground tunnels like a big boy at Gouda Gouda's and Salma Hayek's going away party.

Boy, are you smart. I know everyone thinks their kid/nephew/dog is a genius, but I really think you might be really, really smart. Probably not a genius, because you’ve got some iffy genes from both sides of the family to overcome (hee hee), but close. You whiz through workbooks at lightning speed. You never cease to amaze us with your random knowledge – “echo location” is the one that comes to mind right now. What 3-4 year old knows how bats and dolphins communicate and can correctly explain it for idiots like me? That’s right. You.

"ICE" at the Gaylord. You love Christmas. You made Christmas awesome again.

Lately, when I come to your house, you run at me and hug me. (In the recent past, I was ignored because “PBS Kids” was on) You have no idea how much I love your hugs and kisses. Sometimes I call your mommy and ask to talk to you, because you cheer me up. You can make my bad mood turn into a good mood. You’re probably the only person in the world that has that kind of power (well, I will make an exception for Ryan Reynolds. He could turn a bad mood into a good mood, but in a totally different way). Anyway. I hope that you will always hug me and give me kisses. I know you won’t, and I don’t want to think about that day, but we’ll see. Maybe I can force you into it or something.

See what I mean? Two totally different kinds of good moods. I love you both.

Logan, I hope you know that I will always be here for you no matter what. When you’re 13 and hate your mom, it would be wise of you to not hate me as well. You can hide out at my house anytime (well, once you get over your fear of dogs), but rest assured, your mother will be kept up to date. Within reason. I hope that you will always feel like you can trust me, and know that I will do anything in the world for you. I love love love you, and I just want you to know that. You are such a big, smart, happy little boy and seeing you brightens my whole world. Every single time. 

Love,

Aunt Hewwer

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One Comment on “Five.”

  1. kekis26 says:

    Happy Birthday, Logan! Being an aunt is special and fills your heart in such a great way. I remember the first time Whitney called me Kristin instead of “kekis.” It broke my heart!!! Hope you & Logan get to spend some fun birthday time together this weekend.


Leave a Reply

