Cheesy Enchilada Stack

Back in the day, like 11 years ago, I made something like this quite often. I had just moved in with my boyfriend (now husband) and we were poor! (Well, not *really*, but looking back I don’t know how we got by as well as we did). The original recipe (that I can’t find for the life of me) didn’t call for meat, used corn tortillas, and the enchilada sauce was homemade. Back then, I thought cooking was really, really fun and I loved my apartment kitchen. It was tiny, but it was mine, and I was a real live grown up. Now, I hate my kitchen and want a new one.

My husband loved the recipe then, and he loves it now. He told me tonight it was one of his favorite meals I make. Ha! I wasn’t always Lazy Wife. I used to be Girlfriend Who Made Homemade Enchilada Sauce and Cared About Her Cooking. Where’d she go? Oh yeah. She got married 🙂

Source: chef-n-training.blogspot.com via Heather on Pinterest

 

Cheesy Enchilada Stack

1 lb. lean ground beef (non-pink slime, please!)

2 (10 oz.) cans red enchilada sauce

6 (8-inch) flour tortillas

8 oz. bag shredded Cheddar cheese (yeah, I used about 1.5 bags. We like cheese.)

16 oz. can refried beans

2 (4 oz.) cans diced green chiles (I only used 1 can because I don’t like the green chile flava)

Chopped green onion (didn’t use)

Cook the beef in a skillet over medium-high heat until well browned. Drain off fat. Stir 1/2 cup enchilada sauce in the skillet with the beef. Spray a baking sheet with Pam. (I used a 9×9 and lined it with foil, and then sprayed it with Pam).

Place one tortilla on the baking sheet. Top with 1/3 of the beef mixture and 1/4 cup cheese. Top with 1 tortilla, half the refried beans, 1/2 cup enchilada sauce, 1 can drained green chiles (I used 1/2), and 1/4 cup cheese.

Repeat both layers one more time.

Top with 1 tortilla, remaining 1/3 beef mixture, and 1/4 cup cheese. Top with remaining tortilla. Cover the stack with foil.

Bake at 400° for 40 minutes (I did 35) or until the filling is hot. Uncover the stack and top with remaining enchilada sauce, cheese, and green onion. Bake 5 more minutes or until the cheese is melted.

Cut into 6 wedges and serve! My husband put sour cream on his and said it “took it to the next level”. So, whatever that means.

It’s not much to look at, and you don’t want to think about the nutritional “values” for this one – but it’s really, really good, and really, really easy.

http://www.chef-in-training.com/2011/09/cheesy-enchilada-stack.html

Leave a Reply

