Greek yogurt chicken

Holy crap, you guys. I’ve eaten at home for FOUR nights in a row and have not darkened the door of a Taco Casa since Sunday. That’s almost a week. I wonder if Taco Casa misses me. (Probably)

We are trying to eat at home to save 1) pounds and 2) money. I’m tired of making excuses for not cooking at night. We cooked every night for four nights in a row (which is huge for us, it may not be for you) so why can’t we continue? I’m going to try my best! That way, I will enjoy awesome food in Atlanta/Savannah that much more. 18 days, not that I’m counting. Almost 17, in 3 hours.

Tonight we had Greek Yogurt Chicken. Freaking HEALTHY and freaking AWESOME. Two things that I don’t usually say in the same sentence. Anyway. I can’t wait to eat it again and it only has 4 ingredients. Four. Quatro. Right?

I’m sure I found it on Pinterest but of course couldn’t find it to share it on the blog so I had to google it the old fashioned way. You’re welcome.

Greek Yogurt Chicken (aka Juicy Parmesan Crusted Baked Chicken)

4 boneless skinless chicken breasts, about 1 1/4 lbs. (We used two breasts because our breasts were huge. And that’s all I had)

1/2 cup fat free greek yogurt (Tar-jay didn’t have fat free Greek yogurt in the little tubs, so I got Chobani 2%)

1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese (I used shredded, I don’t want the canned stuff and I’m not grating it myself)

1/4 cup Italian seasoned dry bread crumbs (I used Italian seasoned Panko – added a little garlic powder and minced onion to it)

1. Preheat oven to 425.

2. Place greek yogurt and cheese in a small bowl and mix.

3. Put chicken breasts on baking sheet (I used a 2 qt casserole dish) and spread yogurt mixture evenly atop each.

4. Evenly sprinkle bread crumbs on top of each breast.

5. Place in oven and bake for 20 minutes or until meat thermometer reads 165F.

6. Tops will be golden brown (yep) and chicken will be incredibly juicy (yep yep).

7. Season with a dash of fresh cracked pepper and sea salt, if desired.

WW PP 5; Calories 227.7; Total Fat 4.0g; Sat Fat 1.8g; Mono Fat 1.0g; Chol 87.1mg; Sodium 301mg; Potassium 406.3mg; Carbs 6.5g; Fiber 05g (I’m guessing 5 grams fiber? That seems like a lot, but maybe it really is); Sugars 1.5g; Prot 38.8g. The recipe also notes that it is Feingold Stage 1 friendly (I’ll be honest, I have not googled that yet, but it might be helpful to some of you).

Eat this! We had it with rice. I ate a whole bag of broccoli in the last 2 nights or I would have had that with it too.

4 Comments on “Greek yogurt chicken”

  1. Rebecca says:

    Good for you!

    Maybe it’s 0.5 g fiber? 5 g seems like a lot considering the ingredients.

    Sounds good, I will give it a try! I like shredded parm better, too, but you can buy grated parmesan not in a can. At my grocery store it’s in the deli case, DiGiorno is the brand I usually get.

    • lazyheather says:

      Yeah, 0.5 sounds more like it. Also, I’m cheap. I bought Kraft shredded parm because I didn’t want to pay for DiGiorno 🙂

  2. Oh…. Sounding pretty dang Yum Yum! Thank you for sharing this- totally going to try it!


Leave a Reply

