Paula Deen's Chicken Enchiladas

I have made these several times, and now I have it down to a science. Everyone that eats them loves them and I’ve given out the recipe several times – it’s from an old Paula Deen magazine. I wish she thought it was good enough to put on her show(s)!

Chicken Enchiladas with Tomatillo Cream Sauce
Makes 24 enchiladas

3 cups chopped cooked chicken
1 (8 oz) pkg. cream cheese, softened
1 (8 oz) container sour cream
1 (8 oz) pkg. Monterey Jack cheese, shredded
1 onion, chopped
1/4 cup chopped fresh cilantro
2 cloves garlic, minced
1/2 tsp. salt
1/2 tsp. ground black pepper
24 (6-inch) corn tortillas
Tomatillo Cream Sauce (recipe follows)
1 (8 oz) pkg. Colby and Monterey Jack cheese blend, shredded (I actually used 2 pkgs. BAD BAD HEATHER.)
Sliced green onions (optional, which means I didn’t use them)

Preheat oven to 350F. Lightly grease two 13x9x2-inch baking dishes.
In a large bowl, combine chicken and next 8 ingredients. Spoon 2 Tbsp. of chicken mixture down center of each tortilla. Fold sides over, enclosing filling. Place filled tortillas, in a single layer, seam side down, in prepared baking dishes.
Spoon Tomatillo Cream Sauce evenly over enchiladas.
Sprinkle with shredded cheese. Bake 35-40 minutes, or until hot and bubbly. Garnish with sliced green onions, if desired.

Tomatillo Cream Sauce
Makes 5 cups

1 (28 oz) can tomatillos, drained (I couldn’t find canned tomatillos, so I bought 8 fresh ones and peeled them instead. I’m sure it tastes better fresh anyway!)
1 (14.5 oz) can chicken broth
1 (4 oz) can chopped green chilies
2 tsp. ground cumin
2 tsp. chili powder
1/2 tsp. salt
1 cup heavy whipping cream

In a large skillet, combine tomatillos, broth, chilies, cumin, chili powder, and salt. Bring to a boil over medium heat; reduce heat and simmer 20 minutes. Remove from heat.
Pour mixture into container of an electric blender or food processor. Pulse mixture several times until smooth. Return mixture to skillet; stir in cream, and cook 2 minutes on low.


7 Comments on “Paula Deen's Chicken Enchiladas”

  1. nlesl says:

    Do you know which magazine this was from? I love this recipe as well, and in the same magazine there was a recipe for some appetizers that were little wonton wrappers filled with a crab mixture-now I can’t find the magazine. I guess someone threw it out. Let me know if you know the month/year of this one and I’ll get a back copy. Thanks!

  2. lootie2shoes says:

    As you know, I made these a few weeks ago and froze half. I froze them UNCOOKED! When I reheated them last night, DH asked if this was a different recipe (um, no….moron!) because he liked the taste better than from the first time.

  3. Mika Weist says:

    In response to nlesl, this is one of my favorite recipes. I also love her Brunswick stew. I couldn’t find the exact recipe in the exact magazine (I found a similar one at foodnetwork.com) and I went to her website pauladeen.com. I clicked on “Contact Us” and asked about the recipe. Instead of telling me that I would have to puchase a back issue, they sent me the exact recipe with no problem. I hope this helps!

  4. Jennifer says:

    I made this a couple of weeks ago, thanks to your posting it here. Despite halving the recipe, it made lots of food, but since it was downright fantastic (I’m with you on the oodles of cheese goodness) that was most certainly not a problem. Thanks so much for posting the recipe, we loved it and will be making it again!

  5. delandra says:

    Delicious!I had alot of cilantro left over so I
    break the leaves off and place in a clean ice tray and finish filling with water and freeze. After they are good and frozen I pop them out of the trays and store in freezer bags in the freezer until they are needed. That way when I need a little cilantro for beans, stews or whatever I have it on hand.

  6. teaandscones says:

    This saved me from searching for her recipe in all the PD mags. Thanks. going to try it.

  7. Steve says:

    I made these for my wife, she really isn’t a big mexican food fan but she loved these. So deelish the tomatiliio sauce gives it a very good tangyness. It seems like a pain in the but to assemble all of them but it is worth it in the end.
    Yummy yummy im making them again tonight


Leave a comment